Gluten-free/low blood sugar (updated knowledge!)

I did some more reading on the glycemic index and what it means.  Carbs that breakdown quickly during digestion have a high glycemic index.  They cause blood sugar to rise quickly.  What happens to me is that an hour or two later, my blood sugar crashes and I end up feeling dizzy and shaky.  So here is a webpage I found with a handy glycemic index at the bottom.  I think I figured out my culprit: brown rice.  I’ve been eating stir fry with brown rice for three days straight (left-overs).  Maybe that is why I have felt so shaky for two days straight!

The glycemic index was interesting to me in a lot of ways.  For instance, I didn’t realize that instant rice has a higher glycemic index than regular rice.  (What the hey….you learn something new every day.  It also explains why I always feel like I’m STARVING about 2 hours after I eat a meal that includes rice.)  This index would also be useful in terms of my running–the majority of the foods that I eat before I run or in the meals building up to a longer run have a high glycemic index, which is bad for endurance.

Thanks Carla for suggesting fruit…..I eat a lot of bananas, but assumed that other fruits have a high sugar content.  Most fruits have a LOW glycemic index, so I know to go ahead and dig into those after all!

4 thoughts on “Gluten-free/low blood sugar (updated knowledge!)

  1. I cant tell you how greatful I am that you are such a researcher! I aslo struggle with being REALLY shaky sometimes (In fact have been googeling causes of it as its been worse lately…but haven’t found anything that sounds right) But since I have always struggled with this to some degree, I never thought about it being related to a gluten free diet!

    Tell me what else you find out =) (please)!

  2. Well, this is no research find, but I always felt like my blood sugar dropped more easily when I was nursing….probably because I was grabbing the wrong kinds of foods in a rush and not eating as much as I needed to. With that little one nursing, you might need to eat more! Check out that index to see what foods are best! (“more/most desirable”)

    I think you would also find this blog post interesting because it deals with gluten intolerance, low blood sugar AND headaches. It’s your twin! 😉
    http://herselfgluten-free.blogspot.com/2009/01/reactive-hypoglycemia-dehydration-and.html

  3. Sarah, I have the book for you! I will bring it up… it talks about the athlete and all these symptoms to glycogen depletion in athletes. Maybe I will quick scan in and mail it to you… a teaser… you can devour the book later. It’s from the Glycemic research Inst. Any yes, rice of any form is on the unacceptable foods list. However…the glycemic response of rice can range up to 135, depending on amylose content and cooking time. The lower the amylose, parboiled rice is lowest. In the acceptable glycemic food list is Traditional Asian rice. It’s unrefined and contains essential nutrients. To reduce the glycemic response of rice, make sure the rice is not sticky. Cooked rice should be dry with the grains separate, and not gooey or clumped. The longer rice is cooked, the higher the glycemic response. Eat asian rice with lean protein and high fiber vegies. (I am quickly quoeting from the book this info.

  4. That book sounds useful! I don’t do a lot of long distance running these days, but I obviously do need to learn more even for day to day living. This low blood sugar feeling is awful!

Leave a Reply

