Keepin’ Busy

The Lord has been blessing me with freedom in some areas that I (of course, unknowingly for the most part) desperately needed it in.  One blessing came today while meeting for the first time with my new mentor (!), *V*.  We were reading Titus together as a means of giving our meeting time some direction from here on out.  She pointed out a couple of things from this brief passage:

3Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. 4Then they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children, 5to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.

The one that felt like so much freedom to me were the words: “be busy at home.”  In the past I’ve always focused on the “busy” part of that verse and felt like a hard-working wife and mother should be a busy-bee.  But what *V* stressed was the “at home” aspect of the verse.  I seriously felt a huge weight lift off of me.  So often I am trying to maintain friendships, help people out, serve in the church, be a part of activities that seem fine and good, but really just keep me away from home.  This kind of busyness stresses me out.  I am a person who needs to get out of the house on a regular basis and I do have a need to connect with people, but I really need to remember that my primary responsibility is to provide a loving, Godly, peaceful, and joyful home for my husband and children.  I know that it will only be a matter of time before I feel guilt or pressure to ignore this responsibility for “more important” responsibilities, but I pray that I will be brought back over and over again to what is important.

She also offered me some words from Ruth Bell Graham.  Essentially Mrs. Graham was reminding women to do the possible (nuture, guide, love, instruct; for our children–discipline) and entrust the impossible to God (conviction of sin, salvation).  Freedom, sisters.  What freedom!  While freedom doesn’t take away our responsibility, it takes away that suffocating burden that keeps us burrowed in our failures, our weaknesses, and our hopelessness.  Galatians 5 is this week’s proclamation and promise for me:

1It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.

Can I get a witness?!

4 thoughts on “Keepin’ Busy

  1. What did you guys decide to do for your times together? Was Titus just a “today” thing or are you going to study that deeper? How exciting Sarah! I REALLY liked what you said about the Keeping Busy at Home part of the verse – that makes so much sense.

    I’m not married or have a family, but with having roommates I notice that when I actually check-in on how they are really doing instead of breezing in and out of the house busy with my own agenda, I have more grace for things not being clean or perfect…{to my standards} 🙂 and I notice that when I take the time at HOME to take care of making meals, cleaning, keeping on top of things there, it really DOES make life outside of my home more enjoyable and stress-free. I like that – thanks for sharing – that was important for me to hear today.

  2. True all that! What a wise woman you have as a mentor, I’m so excited for your relationship with V to grow. And I’m so thankful that you have this type of relationship there! Sounds like I might be thankful for the wisdom you can pass on to me as well!! 🙂

  3. It’s a great message and foundation for us women called to our homes and families. I also took away from the piece of doing the possible and entrusting the impossible. Words for all women in whatever time.

  4. My mentor gave me a Bible Study by Cynthia Head called “Loving Your Husband.” It will be a great book to go through with a woman who has been married longer than I have. I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

