Feeling Kind of Stressed/Crabby/Mad?

Things can stress a person out.  Especially as we’re in the holiday season and coming upon Christmas Day.  There’s a lot to do.  A lot to figure out.  A lot that can go wrong.

Today a friend called me and asked me to pray for her.  (I always feel so blessed when a friend asks me to go before the Lord on her behalf!)  She has a family member in the hospital, not recovering well from a recent surgery. She is hoping that her husband makes the right decision for holiday travels (the weather folks are promising us a good old fashioned winter storm for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, when most of us travel to visit family). Her two little girls are flower girls in a wedding in four days and their dresses had yet to arrive.  My dear friend was feeling stressed….all of this on top of the usual holiday worries.

All day today my potty-training two-year-old has been screaming in pain when she has to pee.  I could tell that she was trying to hold it all day and avoid peeing whenever possible.  I left her in the bathroom this evening and told her she could read a book and sit bare-bunned in hopes of airing out her sore bottom.  Let’s just say it ended with about 12 hours worth of pee SPRAYING all over the bathroom.  It was the craziest thing I have ever witnessed.  Today was the day I was trying to get my Christmas baking done and for some reason my phone had also been ringing off the hook all day.  Add to that a bathroom that was sprayed with pee and a floor with puddles all over.  I didn’t know what to do but to laugh in sheer amazement.

Tonight my head hurts a bit.  My jaw is sore–pretty sure it has been clenched a good part of the day.  Yesterday I had a total breakdown when I realized that I had deleted some wedding images off my memory card before downloading them to my computer.  I reacted perhaps a bit dramatically, but when my husband said, “It’s not the end of the world, calm down!”  I shrieked, “It IS the end of the world!”  Right.  Sometimes we get stressed out. Sometimes that stress can tick us off, make us crabby, drive us mad.  Let’s not let it.  Let’s make a little promise to not shriek absurd things, freak out about a little thing like a snowstorm, or bite off the head of someone we love.  It’s Christmas, ladies…..remember the promise that we celebrate….the promise of salvation that was born a couple of thousand years ago.  Keep it in perspective and say a little prayer that I can, too!

P.S.  In case you were wondering, my husband saved the day and recovered all but about 10 of the wedding images.  Genius.  That’s why I married him.

One thought on “Feeling Kind of Stressed/Crabby/Mad?

  1. Ahhh stress… thank goodness for prayers and faith! What’s wrong with sofie and painful peeing? Does she have a bladder infection?

Leave a Reply

