It’s a Matter of Taste

I was chatting with another photographer today and we were discussing style.  She told a story about a friend of hers who had hired another photographer to capture his wedding.  He was unhappy with most of the images because “they’re all crooked!”  Upon looking at the images, she informed him that the pictures were supposed to look like that.  He was upset and said he wouldn’t be able to frame any of them since they were all crooked.  Gosh…..this is why I earnestly insist that my potential clients look at my website and get an idea of my style and how my images look.  I tremble when someone who has never seen a picture of mine says, “Oh, you do photography?  Can you do my wedding/baby’s portraits/family pictures?” Eek, like just owning a camera and charging people to have their pictures taken makes me the right photographer for them!  People, know what you’re getting–{I am a bit addicted to crooked pictures!}.  🙂

Yep, guilty as charged.  Crooked-picture-taker.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Matter of Taste

  1. first, great pictures posted above! =)

    second, my thoughts on the crooked picture are they are suppose to ADD to the flow of the photo…so that you almost can’t tell if they are crooked, just REALLLY greAT

    unfortunately, some people JUST take crooked pictures

    third,,,,I could not agree MORE about making sure people have seen a significant amount of my work before they hire me!

    “I tremble when someone who has never seen a picture of mine says, “Oh, you do photography? ” exactly =)

Leave a Reply

