Should I Stay or Should I Go?

It seems to me that often in life, when I am in a place where I am comfortable and content, God starts giving me a nudge.  I try to ignore it for awhile, I try to talk myself and God out of it.  Eventually I realize that I have to go forward and leave the place that is easy.  To be honest, it often doesn’t take me too long to make this realization.  Even though change is stressful and the circumstances ahead are often difficult or challenging at best, a part of me longs for change.  It is easier for me to muster up the courage to leave behind complacency and charge forward into the murky waters of the unknown than it is to muster up the courage to stay in a tough situation and not run to comfort.

It is significantly harder for me is sit still, to stay–particularly if I am in a place that is uncomfortable, unrelenting, or downright miserable.  So often I want to press on and move past the ugly thing and move on to something new.  Surely God is calling me to cross over the river and settle on the other side, right?  Right, God?  In His silence or in the obviousness of closed doors or lack of opportunities, I guess that sometimes He also calls me to stay.

I talk about all of this and include things like literal places (locations), relationships, places in one’s faith journey, jobs, school, church, and so on.  Lately I’d say almost all of the aforementioned  situations apply–I want to run far, far away from the things that aren’t easy right now!  Last night I went old school on a long drive in the van and put in a Rich Mullins CD.  {If you know anything about me, it is that I am a sucker for Rich Mullins and the Ragamuffin Band…I mean, first of all, their band name is “ragamuffin”, which is totally cool, but also the guy had incredible lyrics, aside from “Our God is an awesome God…..” lol….}  As usual, when I listen to the words on this album, some specific line will jump out at me and appear to be spoken for me for that exact moment.  Last night I was struck by: “We all want to go there somethin’ awful, but to stand there takes some grace.”

Isn’t that just it?  When we want to go anywhere but here (wherever that may be), it takes a lot more grace to just stand still.  And when we are clinging to the comforts of where we are, it takes a lot of courage to step out in faith and go where He leads us.  Be courageous and be filled with grace–whichever your situation is calling for!

One thought on “Should I Stay or Should I Go?

  1. Love the new picture. Your words were very well spoken. And how often don’t we want to leave or even run. When God has put us in places, situations, a dozen different things, that we are so uncomfortable with. Made me stop and think of things that I have run from. Thinking of you, sweetie.

Leave a Reply

